About us


Materials Science and Solar Energy Network for Eastern and Southern Africa.

This network has received support from ISP since 2009. The network consists of five universities in four countries: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia. Before 2009, the network received ISP support as part of the TAN:01/2 activity at University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. The Coordinating Office rotates between the network members and is currently located at University of Nairobi, Kenya headed by Prof Bernard Aduda. There is a steering committee consisting of eight staff members from the five participating universities. The ISP supported groups at University of Nairobi and University of Eldoret, Kenya, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, Makerere University, Uganda and University of Zambia are members of the network. .

Materials Science and Solar Energy Network for Eastern and Southern Africa (MSSEESA) Node coordinators:

The network aims to: Assist network members to build and sustain a critical mass of credible scientists through postgraduate training and research in areas of materials science and solar energy. Implement cost effective utilization of available resources in the sub-region. Promote and facilitate dissemination and exchange of information.

Prof. Bernard O. Aduda (Kenya)
E-mail: boaduda@uonbi.ac.ke or adudaboc.ba@gmail.com Tel: +254 721 267 858 Read More
Prof Mghendi Mwamburi (Kenya)
Email: Mghendi@yahoo.com Read More
Dr Margret Samiji (Tanzania)
Email: samiji@udsm.ac.tz Read More
Dr. Okello Denis (Uganda)
Emails: denis.okello@cns.mak.ac.ug, dekello@yahoo.com Mobile: +256772579403 Read More
Dr Sylvester Hatwaambo (Zambia)
Email: shatwaambo@unza.zm Read More